SWIMMING: St. Mary’s High School wins the overall District 8 swim title


WATERLOO REGION (December 22, 2016) – St Mary’s regained the overall swimming title and the overall boys title at the District 8 championships held Wednesday at Wilmot Recreation Centre.

St. Mary’s top swimmers were Suyeong Choi who won the open girls 200m individual medley, Dustin Wang who won the senior boys 50m butterfly and Nicole Stoyakovich who won the senior girls 100m backstroke.

St. Benedict’s came close to the combined title falling short by 36 points but did manage to win the girls overall title. The Saints were led by open girls division swimmer Lauren Mage who won all three freestyle distance races (50m, 100m and 200m), and captured the girls open gold medal.

Kate Fitzpatrick from St. David’s tied Mage for the open girls division gold as she swam to three wins in the 100m individual medley, 100m backstroke and 100m breaststroke.

Also winning all three races and capturing individual gold was Samantha Kerry for St. Benedict’s in the junior girls division. Kerry, won the 50m distance in the freestyle, butterfly and backstroke races.

Curtis Floras also captured individual gold for the Saints as he won the 100m and 200m freestyle distances, and finished second in the 50m freestyle.

Ethan Locis from Monsignor Doyle was a bullet in the pool all day as he won all three of his events. In the boys open division, Locis won the 200m freestyle by more than 42 seconds posting an OFSAA qualification time by more than five seconds. He also won the 100 butterfly and 100m backstroke posting OFSAA qualification times for both.

St. David’s and Resurrection each had great individual efforts from Grace Solylo and Vicky Lehner who each won three races tying for gold in the senior girls division. Solylo won the 50m and 100m freestyle, and 50m butterfly, while Lehner won the 50m and 100m breaststroke and the 100m individual medley.

The Celtics had a third individual gold medalist on the day which came from Noah Betik in the junior boys division. Betik posted an OFSAA qualification time, winning the 50m freestyle, and also won the 100m individual medley and 50m breaststroke.

All individual event winners along with all swimmers who posted CWOSSA qualification times will advance to the CWOSSA Championships being held February 15, 2017 at the Wilmot Recreation Centre.

For full individual results click here.