ICE HOCKEY: St. Mary’s claims first District 8 boys title since 1994


WATERLOO REGION (February 11, 2020) – On Monday the St. Mary’s Eagles boys hockey team edged past St. David’s in the District 8 title game.

The Eagles won the inaugural District 8 boys hockey title in 1992, then again in 1994 and did win a title once in the 19 years Waterloo Catholic schools played in the WCSSAA league.

It was Nathan Dewar from St. David’s who opened up the scoring late in the first period with assists from Josh Cornfield and Ryan Suljak, but St. Mary’s answered quickly.

Just over a minute after the opening goal, Nathan Bartlett jumped on a rebound and potted the equalizer.

Evan Rovers from St. Mary’s scored before the end of the first period to give the Eagles a 2-1 lead.

Not long into the second period Jesse Shill scored to give the Eagles a two goal advantage.

Twenty seconds into the third period, Celtics’ Ryan Suljak scored to get within a goal.

St. David’s pulled their goalie in the last minute of the game, but St. Mary’s was able to hold on with a 3-2 win.

St. Mary’s qualifies for the triple-A CWOSSA championship March 9 & 10 in Fergus while St. David’s will qualify in the A/AA championship in Waterford.