St. Mary’s Simon nets second-straight District 8 boys basketball MVP honour


SMH_Crest1_Colour1WATERLOO REGION (March 24, 2014) – St. Mary’s Tesloth Simon collected his second consecutive District 8 MVP award as the league announced its senior and junior boys basketball all-star teams on Monday.

Simon led St. Mary’s to their third straight appearance in OFSAA and an impressive perfect 11-0 record in District 8 play. He was one of the league’s top scorers all-season long registering a season high 23 points in a 65-34 win over the St. David’s Celtics back on December 2nd. Similar to last season, he would play a key role throughout the Eagles push towards D8 and CWOSSA titles and an OFSAA appearance.

Altogether, District 8 champion St. Mary’s scored five players on the all-star squad with Simon being joined by Tyrick Thompson and Jermaine Lyle on the first team squad while Tyler Hergott and Avery Sutton garnered second team honours. For Simon, Thompson, Lyle, and Hergott it marked the second time in their career that they have appeared on the senior all-star squad having all been named last season as well.

Resurrection’s Patric McGlynn also earned his second senior All-Star selection being named to the first team while Phoenix teammate Adam Schneider earned a second team mention. Resurrection finished as runners up to St. Mary’s with their only defeats coming at the hands of the Eagles.

Monsignor Doyle placed Jamal Bell on the first team and Ryan Statfford on the second team while St. David’s Alex Scheffler was the lone Celtic named to the second team. Both Stafford and Scheffler were the only grade 11’s named to the squad.

On the junior side of the ball, St. Mary’s and St. Benedict’s put two athletes each on the first squad with Adham Eleeda and Barnaba Niel representing the D8 champion Eagles. Alex Douglas and Zubair Zeyed were the representatives from the Saints on the first team while Resurrection’s Ali Rashid rounded out the first team.

Second team junior all-stars included Resurrection’s Joseph Hunter, Muyang Iluya, along with Mina Abara (St. Mary’s), Mason Cumming (St. David) and Justin Malnerich (St. Benedict’s).

The entire District 8 all-star team will be in action to showcase their skills this Wednesday at the annual Basketball All-Star game between District 8 and District 10 (Guelph). The event goes March 26th at Resurrection CSS. Junior tipoff is scheduled for 6:00pm while the senior game goes at 8:00pm. Admission to the event is free.

2013-14 District 8 Senior Boys Basketball All-Stars

Most Valuable Player: Tesloth Simon (St. Mary’s HS)

First Team      
Name Position Grade School
Jamal Bell Forward 12 Monsignor Doyle CSS
Jermaine Lyle Guard 12 St Mary’s HS
Patric McGlynn Forward 12 Resurrection CSS
Tesloth Simon Guard 12 St Mary’s HS (MVP)
Tyrick Thompson Guard 12 St Mary’s HS
Second Team
Tyler Hergott Forward/Guard 12 St Mary’s HS
Alex Scheffler Guard 11 St David CSS
Adam Schneider Guard 12 Resurrection CSS
Ryan Stafford Guard 11 Monsignor Doyle CSS
Avery Sutton Guard 12 St Mary’s HS
Honourable Mentions
Korbil Gany Guard 10 Resurrection CSS
Jacob Gilbert Forward 12 Resurrection CSS
Tyler Moulton Guard 12 St. Benedict CSS
Nathan Riley Forward 12 St Mary’s HS
Sohrob Sultani Forward 11 Monsignor Doyle CSS

2013-14 District 8 Junior Boys Basketball All-Stars


First Team      
Alex Douglas Forward 10 St. Benedict CSS
Adham Eleeda Guard 10 St. Mary’s HS
BarnabaNiel Forward 10 St. Mary’s HS
Ali Rashid Guard 10 Resurrection CSS
Zubair Zeyed Guard 10 St. Benedict CSS
Second Team
Minas Abara Guard 10 St. Mary’s HS
Mason Cumming Forward 10 St. David CSS
Joseph Hunter Guard 10 Resurrection CSS
Muyang Iluya Forward 10 Resurrection CSS
Justin Malnerich Guard 10 St. Benedict CSS
Honourable Mentions 
Jordan Deveney – Reid Forward 10 Monsignor Doyle CSS
John McElroy Guard 10 St. David CSS
Teddy Newman Guard 10 Woodland CHS
David Nguyen Guard 10 St. Mary’s HS
Isaac Regier Guard 10 Rockway MC