D8 WRESTLING: Monsignor Doyle & St. Mary’s claim wrestling titles


WATERLOO REGION (February 15, 2024) – On Thursday, in a packed Forest Heights Collegiate Institute gym, the District 8 wrestling titles were grappled over and decided. 

In one of the largest local high school wrestling championships in recent history, there was one consistent occurrence, the wrestling team from Monsignor Doyle collected the boys team title. The team has never lost in District 8, dating back to titles won in the retired District 3 league from the mid-late 1980s. Collecting gold medals for the Mustangs in their weight categories on Thursday were Graham Daly, Nathan DeVerteuil, Jerome Laparan, Luke Jaworski, Kaadn Knight and Shawn O`Hagan. Another 15 wrestlers from Monsignor Doyle collected either silver or bronze and qualified for the CWOSSA Championships. 

District 8 Boys Gold Medalists

The girl’s title was claimed by St. Mary’s who won three gold medals. Giselle Guerra Ventura, Paige McRory and Emanda Mengwsha each won their divisions while Izabella Szakacs collected a silver medal for the Eagles. Finn Murphy, Matt Totzke and Jacob Michalski also collected gold medals in their divisions for the St. Mary’s boys’ team. 

St. Mary’s Girls Wrestling Medalists

Resurrection equaled the gold medal count set by Monsignor Doyle in boys weight categories with six. Dylan Gentile, Gheresin Gheresin, Brian Lovell, Luigi Malleck, William Lovell and Joseph Reitzel each won gold medals while Ava Malleck and Mya Blackshaw also collected golds in girls’ divisions. 

District 8 Girls Gold Medalists

Jessica Weiler, Meg Kesablian, Alfonso Artillega and Nathan Kobe each won gold medals for St. David’s, while St. Benedict made a return to the wrestling mat in 2024, advancing five wrestlers to the CWOSSA Championships which will take place February 21, 2024, at Centre Wellington DHS.