Eagles soar to capture District 8 swimming championship


WATERLOO, Ont. (December 13, 2012) – For the first time since 2007-08 a new overall swimming champion was crowned by the District 8 Athletic Association on Thursday — The St. Mary’s Eagles captured the 2012-13 District 8 swimming championship edging  five time-defending champion Resurrection Phoenix for the combined crown.

St. Mary’s won the combined title earning 533 points while the dominate Resurrection Phoenix finished just behind with 510 points.  St. Benedict claimed third place in the overall standings finishing with 416 points.
The Eagles also dashed Resurrection’s hope of a tenth straight title in the girl’s category winning that division with 306 points.  St. Benedict’s finished second with 241 points while Resurrection was third with 226.  The title marked the first time ever that St. Mary’s had won the girls overall title.
Resurrection rebounded in the boys overall competition picking up their fifth straight title.  The Phoenix collected 284 points while St. Mary’s was second with 227.  St. Benedict secured third place with 175.
Top swimmers included Gillian Frezell (St. Mary’s HS) who placed first in three individual girls disciplines while Truc Tran-Dwyer (Resurrection), Mckayla Meyer (St. David), Shannon Eby (Resurrection), Holly Gojmerac (St. David), and Blanaid McNally (Resurrection) placed first twice.
On the boy’s side Kurtis Gray (Resurrection) collected three first place results while teammate Tyler Henry and Devon Hinsperger each had two first place finishes.  Andrew Cardy (St. Mary’s) Joseph Scarfone (St. David), Andrew Gerncser (St. Mary’s) and Scott Fraser (St. Mary’s) also earned first place in two events.

Jr Girls HS Overall Champion
Gillian Frezell – SMHS – 30 points

Sr Girls HS Overall Champion
Shannon Eby – RCSS – 20 points
Blanaid McNally – RCSS – 20 points
Truc Tran-Dwyer – RCSS – 20 points

Open Female Champion
Cristina Macedo – SMHS – 26 points

Jr Boys HS Overall Champion
Scott Fraser – SMHS – 28 points
Devon Hinsperger – RCSS – 28 points

Sr Boys HS Overall Champion
Andrew Cardy – SMHS – 28 points

Open Male Champion
Kurtis Gray – RCSS – 30 points